Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 28, 2017, 11:50:57 am

Login with username, password and session length
Director PLEASE!!!!
Add your location information to your personal profile. Thanx!
433224 Posts in 37063 Topics by 9458 Members
Latest Member: Rich351
Search: Advanced search
Advertiser Inquiries
+ SBFTECH.com Experienced Small Block Ford Tech
|-+ Grass Roots Tech
| |-+ Grass Roots Small Block Windsor
| | |-+ Do I need SFI rated flexplate?
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Do I need SFI rated flexplate?  (Read 843 times)
dads67coupe
Small Block
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 151

Location: Littleton NH

« on: September 18, 2016, 07:52:24 pm »

Is an SFI rated flexplate better than a non rated one? I dont plan on hitting the drags all that often, maybe a few times a year. Car will be on street tires. Engine is being built as a 408w, but its got 3.27 gears and 275-60 bfg's

I am just concerned that I will buy one thats SFI rated and either not need it, or not need it til its expired.....

Thanks guys
Logged
al2
Big Block
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1593


Location: fort worth,tx.

« Reply #1 on: September 18, 2016, 10:07:13 pm »

yes
Logged
BirdMan
Adv_SBFTechie
Big Block
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1915


Location: Topeka, KS

« Reply #2 on: November 18, 2016, 02:04:25 pm »

  I have several that are outdated.  The time frame is 5 years until expires and I would imagine you should remove and rebuild the converter and trans along with a new flexplate, BUT order and receive the fp and compare with one removed for crank to converter height!  Just in case it changes    WTF which it does Whistling

I imagine if rpm's are kept below 8,000 but if you go over 6,000 you might consider a BlowProof Bellhousing.  I have a JPW which is kinda bulky and starter nose hit on mine.  There are some more available and are lighter and thinner for clearance issues.

Oh, by the way you might need a tranny blanket/cover.  I use the bent aluminum ones like from TCI (sometimes cover don't fit boltholes good and I use a countersink to move).  I have replaced in our 64 Falcon but is tight.

I am adding a tip on the 4 bolts on the servo.
Logged

Son's 412W Build Information;
http://sbftech.com/index.php/topic,19018.0.html
Son's '64 Falcon Performance Information;
http://sbftech.com/index.php/topic,25183.0.html
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  



Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines



408 Stroker