Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
September 22, 2018, 08:03:46 am

Login with username, password and session length
Director PLEASE!!!!
Add your location information to your personal profile. Thanx!
435265 Posts in 37271 Topics by 9537 Members
Latest Member: Mgabski
Search: Advanced search
Advertiser Inquiries
+ My Community
|-+ Grass Roots Tech
| |-+ Grass Roots Camshafts
| | |-+ Crower 15513 roller cam .512/228 int .531/234 ex
Pages: [1] 2 Go Down Print
Author Topic: Crower 15513 roller cam .512/228 int .531/234 ex  (Read 13103 times)
t-boltbill
2stroke

« on: March 29, 2014, 11:34:21 am »

First and foremost, I am new to sbf tech and this is my first post, so forgive me if it lacks a little in protocol. I just concluded (successfully) a 302 +030, 1987 roller block build that included use of components that generate considerable controversy, among them TFS track heat 58cc heads, with stock (notched) pistons and a camshaft with considerable duration/overlap. The 58cc heads come with the "red tag of death" stating they cannot be used with anything other than TFS pistons. I was aware of this warning prior to purchase but chose to "roll the dice" notwithstanding a body of evidence from other postings that these are milled to achieve volume and placed valves (intake in particular) in conflict with pistons. My piston were approximately .015 from the deck (a good sign to start), I used the felpro 1011-2 (039 compressed thickness for better quench and compression) and with the subject Crower 15513 cam (specs readily available from Crower to save typing) had no clearance issues whatsoever. I  checked both ways (dial indicator and clay) exhaust was never close and intake had a country mile (at least .100) this was with cam degreed per card with no additional advance or retard. The combo is going in a tbolt replica with 4sp and 3.55 and I wanted a choppy/aggressive idle (to match the look of the car) but with decent drivability. If this is what you are looking for th