Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
October 24, 2014, 08:33:28 pm

Login with username, password and session length
Director PLEASE!!!!
Add your location information to your personal profile. Thanx!
414201 Posts in 35428 Topics by 8862 Members
Latest Member: StevenR422
Search: Advanced search
Advertiser Inquiries
+ SBFTECH.com Experienced Small Block Ford Tech
|-+ Grass Roots Tech
| |-+ Grass Roots General Tech
| | |-+ Pushrod length and gt40 heads (newbie questions)
Pages: [1] 2 Go Down Print
Author Topic: Pushrod length and gt40 heads (newbie questions)  (Read 8257 times)
FourtyOneFord
Small Block

« on: December 03, 2010, 04:31:15 pm »

Hey,   Welcome I'm new to this forum and glad to be here, lots of good reading. 
Let me start by saying I'm building a 347 stroker this winter for my '41 coupe.
I'd like to make good power from 1500-6000, car is for the street w/ AOD transmission.

I'm new to engine building, but have been tooling with cars for years.

I'm starting with a .030 over block from the machine shop (full roller block).
Scat cast steel 28oz crank 3.4in stroke.  ARP main bolts.
Floated style 5.4 SIR rods and ARP bolts.

I bought a Ford racing E303 roller cam kit from Jegs (M-6250-E303K) which came with
some gaskets, hyd roller lifters and pushrods (I don't know what length). 

I also bought some GT40 cobra heads off EBay from Promar;
  1.84 intake and 1.54 exhaust valves
  62.5 cc combustion chamber (I think a final compression ratio 10:1)
  Spring Pressure Closed 60lbs Open 230lbs
  Valve Springs are for Hydraulic Roller cams and can handle up to .510 valve lift.

I plan to measure for the correct push rod length but I haven't bought any
rockers yet.  I like the idea of roller rockers and they may be in the budget.
I want to stay with the 1.6 ratio as the E303 cam already has .498 lift already
but as I understand the Cobra heads had 1.7 rockers stock.  My heads don't
have any rockers on them now, or even the studs to mount them.  I read that